Menu Close

Pokuase Congregation

The Presbyterian Church of Ghana-Pokuase was established in the early 1960’s by a P.W.D. overseer called Thomas James Lewis and his wife Kwarley, both of blessed memory. The church was located at Pokuase Agric. Quarters and later moved to Pokuase Township, and was housed by Mr. Attuquaye Quaye free of charge. Mr. Ayisi Samuel a teacher was nominated to be a caretaker in 1961.

New District

The church was placed under the Accra New Town district. In 1963 Evangelist Henry Adom Odonkor was brought from Osu Ebenezer Presby church to take over from Mr. Samuel Ayisi. He visited many surrounding villages preaching the good news with his accordion. He trained one Madison from Adabraka for practices (1974-1975) and also Mr. Gideon Teye Anim leading to his Abetifi catechist course (1975-1977).86

Acquisition of land and construction of Cathedral 

By 1964, the church acquired a piece of land but could not move there till 1970. One staunch member, barrister C.T. Yeboah, did his best with his contractor from Accra and started the foundation of the church building in 1967 and it was completed in 1986. The official laying of the cornerstone was however made on 25th January, 1975 by RT. Rev. G. K. Sintim Misa. Meanwhile, the church met under a shed they erected on the plot they acquired from the chief and elders of Pokuase. Evangelist Henry Adom Odonkor took ill and died in 1977. Mr. Andrew Akpor Pobee took over temporarily after his death. Mr. Andrew Akpor Pobee was a teacher and worked for 6 years, he was later transferred to Oyarifa by his school authorities. Mr. George Lartey Mantey took over as a volunteer caretaker till 1988. He worked hand in hand with Mr. Ebenezer O. Quartey. He also transferred from Alajo. In June 1968, Mr. J.K.A Ollenu was brought from Medie as a catechist. In December, 1998, Mr. Ollenu was transferred to Achimota and Mr. Benard Nartey Ahoni a retired master and catechist was brought from Kpone Bawaleshi to take over from Ollenu. Agony stayed until 1992 and was transferred to Sarpeiman. It was at this time that Rev. Joshua Aryee was posted to Pokuase as a full time pastor with oversight responsibility of the Ga rural (Now Ga mission field west) congregations, namely Pokuase, Otsrikonfo, Ofankor, Samsam Medie, Manhia, Obom, Kotoku and Mayera Mr. C. Frimpong Bannerman a catechist and a school teacher took over from Mr. Ahori. Since mission field was created, the following ministers have been sent.

Roll of Ministers

  • Joshua C. S. Aryee
  • Solomon Nii Quansah Adjei
  • George Abbey
  • Simon L. Adjovu
  • Lily Oteng Yeborah
  • Stephen Okan Adjetey
  • Nana Bosomprah
  • Issac Quist
  • Nathaniel Abbey
  • Lorna Khemchand

The following ministers also worked in the mission field at a point in time Rev. Okwei, Rev. Bawa, Rev. Ayitey Atiapa, Rev. Blasu, and Rev. E.N Okae. The congregation was relocated to new Achimota District in September, 2008 and Rev. Isaac Quist was inducted as the first minister and with his enthusiasm in the ministry, he moved the congregation to a new level both spiritually and physically.

 Past Catechist / Caretakers

  • Samuel Ayisi –                              1961-1963
  • Henry Adom Odonkor –             1963-1977
  • Andrew Akpor Pobee –               1977-1983
  • George Lartey Mantey –             1983-1988
  • A.K Ollenu –                                  1988-1988 (June-Dec)
  • Benoni Nartey Ahoni –               1988-1992
  • Frimpong C. Bannerman –         1992-1995
  • Samuel Adjei –                              1995-2002
  • Quaye Solomon –                          2002-2007
  • Agyeman Baffour –                      2007-2008
  • Agyeman Baffour –                      2009-2017

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: