Ramseyer History

14  Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.
Psalm 19:14


The Presbyterian Church of Ghana, Ramseyer Congregation was established on April 29, 1984 by a group of people from the Bible Study and Prayer Group, Accra New Town Congregation.

The foundation of the church was first laid when some 27 members met for church service in an uncompleted building belonging to Mr. Anthony Fordjour near the Taifa main lorry station. Attendance was 11 male and 16 female respectively. The children also numbered 30.

The first caretaker was Nana Ntim Gyakari, now a Reverend Minister Rev. B. N. Addico, the then District Minister, Accra New Town visited the church for the first time before it was inaugrated as a full fledged congregation by Rev. I. A. Sowah, the then Presbyterian Chairperson on October 13, 1984.

First Interim Management Committee

The under-listed names were the first Interim Management Committee charged with the spiritual oversight  of the church. They were:

  1. Mr. Stephen K. Bannor
  2. Mr. Ephraim Koi Ayisi Donkor
  3. Madam Grace Asiamah
  4. Madam Juliana Ako Donkor
  5. Madam Agnes Yeboah


The church decided to purchase a plot of land measuring 100 feet by 70 feet for a permanent church building.

The sod cutting for a chapel building was officially done by Rev. B. N. Addicco on December 12, 1855. The IMC was dissolved following the first elected Session in the persons of:

  1. Mr. S. K.  Bannor
  2. Mr. George Yaw Ankomah
  3. Mr. Zac Obeng-Hinneh
  4. Madam Grace Asiamah
  5. Mrs. Juliet Okrah

The church in it’s mission enterprise has planted four congregations at the following places:

  • North Taifa
  • Fise in the Ga Mission Field
  • East Taifa
  • King David at South Taifa

The under-listed Ministers and catechists have administered the congregation over the period since its establishment:

Reverend Ministers

  1. Rev. Emmanuel Osafo-Boateng, from 1991 to 1992 (Attached)
  2. Rev. Brandford Yeboah, from 1995 to 2000 (Attached)
  3. Rev. Johnsom Oppong-Agyare, from 2001 to 2005 (Resident Minister)
  4. Rev. Samuel Odjula, (Acting Minister)
  5. Rev. Nii Blebo Anang, from 2005 to 2006 (Part Time)
  6. Rev. Joseph Badu-Sekyere, 2006 to 2011 (Resident Minister)
  7. Rev. Daniel Okae Boapeah, from 2011 to 2015 (Resident Minister)
  8. Rev. Ebenezer Asare-Kissi from 2013 to dare (Second Minister, Attached)
  9. Rev. Mrs. Esther Mfumwaa Oduro from 2015 (Resident Minister)


  1. Nana Ntim Gyakeri, from 1984 to 1991 (Part Time)
  2. Mr. Zac Obeng-Hinneh, from 1992 to 1889 (Part Time)
  3. Mr. S. O. Aboagye-Koranteng, 1998 to 2004 (Part Time)
  4. Mr. Zac Obeng-Hinneh, 2004 to 2007 (Part Time)
  5. Mr. Ebenezer Appah, 2007 to date