Menu Close



The initiative to establish a new congregation of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana was proposed by the North Taifa Congregation of the PCG, now, Grace Congregation. The purpose was to bring the gospel message of our lord Jesus to people who because of distance constraints, among others, could not attend divine service and other church activities at North Taifa congregation. It was also in response to the great commission of the Lord ii Mat!!8, to reach out to non-Christians in our area. The first move to realize the goal was establishment of a Prayer Cell in the house of Emmanuel Yaw Agyei who was an elder at North Taifa Congregation. When members of the Prayer Cell grew, the need for a bigger and more suitable place was felt. To achieve this, a committee was commissioned under the auspices of the Bible Study and Prayer Group (BSPG) to champion the cause of evangelism in order to establish the congregation. The committee was tasked to give progress report periodically to the session of grace congregation. The under-listed were members of the Committee:

  • Sampson Adomako
  • Seth Obiri-Mante
  • Patrick Ntoni Sasu
  • Eric Asiamah
  • Issac Boadi Debrah
  • Miss Richlove Amoako

The maiden service was held on Easter Sunday, 27th March, 2005 and the officiating minister was Rev. Godfred Bamfo. The service was held on top floor of an uncompleted building kindly donated by Mr. and Mrs. Ashong.


In October 2006, Mr. Emmanuel Agyei kindly sold his parcel of land very close to our meeting place to the congregation.


Soon after the establishment of the Congregation, the committee charged with task of the church planting was dissolved and in its place, a new Interim Session was constituted. The members were as follows:

  • Patrick Ntoni Sasu
  • Doris Irene Ashong
  • Esther Agyekum
  • Richlove Amoaku
  • Issac Asiedu Kessie
  • Felicia Ansong


After existing as a Preacher Post for four years, the assembly of God’s People was elevated to a Congregational status on 14th June, 2009. The officiating Minister was the Rev. Joseph Oduro-Awisi (District Minister of the New Achimota District).


On 1st March, 2009 elections were held for the first session. Members were as follows:

  • Doris Irene Ashong
  • Seth Obiri Mante
  • Esther Agyekum
  • Richlove Amoako
  • Isaac Asiedu Kessie
  • Solomon Asenso Brobbey
  • Ebenezer Amanor-Lartey


The following groups were duly inaugurated as follows:

  • Church Choir –                   30th October, 2011
  • Women’s fellowship –       11th November, 2011
  • Young Adult fellowship – 25th March, 2012
  • Young People’s Guild –      26th August, 2012
  • Singing Band –                    7th December, 2014
  • Men’s Fellowship –             18th October, 2015


The following are the agents who have served the Congregation from its inception:

  • Patrick Ntoni Sasu
  • Sam Ofori Yeboah
  • Mrs. Esther Lamiley Segbefia
  • Nathaniel Narh Nartey
  • Esther Agyekum
  • Dr. Brandford Yeboah


  • Name of the congregation- with divine inspiration from the Holy Spirit and after consultation with all concerned- Lay and ordained including Rev. Dr. Brandford Yeboah, the name ‘Salem’ was chose for the church to signify that, the new church offers safe haven, discipline and hope not only for the members of the church but the larger community as a whole.
  • Acquisition of land-In October 2006 a parcel of land was bought for the church building. On 11th November, 2009 a formal license was secured from the Registrar General for the celebration of marriages.
  • Erection of Chapel-Temporary structure for chapel was begun on 23rd December, 2006. Sod-cutting for the main building was held on 20th May, 2012. Work is still going on the main building, however, it is being used as the place of service.

The following are some members of session:

  • Dr. Brandford Yeboah
  • Nathaniel Narh Nartey
  • Esther Agyekum
  • Doris Irene Ashong
  • Prince Debrah
  • Richlove Amoako
  • Felicia Ansong
  • Margret Nyarko
  • Peter Osei Sampong
  • Peter Osei Sarpong
  • Daniel Prince Addo
  • Eric Ampofo
  • Ebenezer Doku
Salem Congregation, Taifa Presby, Ghana
 Session Members as at 2016