Menu Close

History of Trinity Congregation

Read all about the how Trinity Congregation, Taifa started; the experiences, testimonies, and about the faithfulness of The Lord over the years.


As the Taifa community continues to grow, it became apparent that the two existing congregations of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PGC), Taifa and Taifa North could not accommodate and  satisfy the spiritual needs of the many people who had the wish of joining the PGC and also the many a person who needed to hear the words of salvation.
The vibrant Bible Study and Prayer Group (BSPG) of Taifa in 1998 together with the Ministers in charge in the same year, Rev. Brandford Yeboah after series of deliberations and prayer had the direction to go towards the Eastern part of the Taifa community to plant a branch of the church. In view of this background, a 2 day open air crusade was held from 21st to 22nd April, 1998. Attendace to this crusade wa very impressive throughout the two days. The first forenoon climaxed the activities planned for the planting of the church on 23rd April,1998. Mr. George Ankomah of Taifa delivered the sermon on the first day.
Another open air crusade was organized from 9th to 10th October, 1998 to win more souls and to create an awareness of the existence of the church in the locality.
The BSPG members from Taifa also engaged themselves in house to house evangelism. The results of all these activites were tremendous.


At the first forenoon service on 23rd April, 1998, the following people were recorded and registered into the books of the church. They include nine(9) adults and seven(7) children.
ADULTS: Mary Vida Mensah, Gladys Yichiaa Ofori, Hockson Yaw Asante, Eric Asomaning, Prosper Edo, Patricia Obeng Marfo, Cynthia Ankoma, Emmanuel Kwakye and Josephine Boateng.
CHILDREN: Richard Ohene Siaw, Diana Sefa, Belinda Sefa, Joyce Edo, Frank Oben Darko, Henrietta Ankoma and Vera Ohene Gyemfa.
The BSPG members from Taifa on the first day include George Ankomah, Kenneth Akosa, Timothy Ankomah and others.


From 1998 to 2002, the congregation worshipped in the residences of Mr. Justice Asante Baah and Mad. Patricia Obeng Marfoa, now Mrs. Patricia Osei Nkrumah respectively. We are most grateful to them.
When it became obvious that due to our growth, the church needed to find its own permanent place of worship, the care taker committe inspected the lands being offered for sale in the East Taifa community and managed to negotiate for one. With the help of Taifa congregation, an amount of Fourty Million Cedis (40,000,000)  now Four Thousand Ghana Cedis (GH 4,000.00) was paid for the piece of land.
Several visits were paid to the land  by the care taker committee, the first being on the 5th May, 2002. It was planned that the 2002 Annual Harvest and Thanksgiving service held on the land so that the church will henceforth worship there. Preparation of the place started in June 2002.
Members of that time rightly behaved like the early days’ Apostles; they all got on board and ina matter of five months, the place was ready for the Annual Harvest and Thanksgiving service.
The ocassion came off as planned on the 24th November, 2002 and the church has since been on its own land. The Trinity congregation now has built a decent but temporary temple for adult service and a place for JY meetings.


The communicants of the church in the earlier stages had to join Taifa and Taifa-North congregations for the Lord’s Supper. However the first Baptism was held on 1st January, 1999. Rev. Brandford Yeboah delivered the sermon and administered the Baptism on the said date.
Five (5) adults and six (6) children weere baptised in the name of the Trinity. The minister also administered the first Communion on the same day.


The church’s first confirmation service was held on the 15th January, 2006. Ten (10) members were confirmed from the JY to join the adult service. Rev. E. N. Ollenu the then District Minister of Accra New Town was the officiating minister.


The children’s service is as old as the church. It was alsoinaugurated on the 23rd of April, 1998. The next group to be formed was Junior Youth (JY). Through evangelism, the church was able to win younger people in the ages of 12 to 18 to join. Other children were also graduated from the children’s service to JY.
The church choir was formed in 2004, YPG in 2005. Subsequently, Women’s Fellowship Young Adult Fellowship (YAF) and Singing Band were formed. Men’s Fellowship will soon be formed.


The first caretaker committee was formed on the 21st April, 2002. The members are Mr. Charles Adonteng, care taker, Mr. Offei Christian, secretary, Madam Charity oppong and miss Eunice Oppong as members. Before then , the church was managed by the caretaker, Mr. Charles Adonteng and the BSPG members from Taifa. Due to the relocation of some members of the team, the team wa reconstituted in 2004.
Mr. Charles Adonteng, Care taker, Ms. Eunice Oppong, secretary, Mr. Hockson Asante-Bamfo, Ass. Secretary, Mr. Alex Koranteng, Dir. of Finance, with Mrs. Mary Ankomah, Madam Charity Oppong and Mr. Isaac Oware as members.


The eat Taifa preaching post received a full congregational status on the 15th November, 2009. The service was conducted by the New Achimota district standing committee led by the district minister Rev. Oduro-Awisi. Also eight elected Presbyters were inducted into office. Most of the members on the IMT were elected. The post was named “TRINITY”.


  • Rev. J. Badu Sekyere            Taifa          2006-2010
  • Rev. R. O Danso                     Grace        2010-2012
  • Rev. Osei Kofi                                           2013-2015
  • Rev. Roger Eric Addae                            2015-


  • Rev. Roger Eric Addae                            Minister
  • Charles Adonteng                                   Care taker
  • Cat. Hockson Asante-Bamfo                 Catechist
  • Dorcas Frempong                                   Session Clerk
  • Ebenezer Sika Brempong                     Ass. Clerk
  • Alex Koranteng                                       Dir. of Finance
  • Felix Tenkorang                                     Ass. Dir. of Finance
  • Samuel Kyere Agyeman                        Treasurer
  • Charity Oppong                                       Senior Presbyter
  • Eunice Amoh (Mrs)                                 Member
  • Joseph Gbingor                                        Member
  • Esther Boadu                                           Member
  • Cecelia Danso                                          Member
  • Francis Ofori                                           Member
  • Timothy Ankomah                                 Member